SOUTHERN YELLOW PINE

The Southern Yellow Pine is one of various kinds of the mountain pine, which is native to the Southeastern region of the United States.

Description

Botanical name: Quercus petraea
Overall character: The overall appearance of this wood is mostly resin-free and resembles the Douglas fir in color and structure. The drying process of straight grained woods is simple and mostly unproblematic. The core’s fungus resistance is good, but not strong enough for outdoor use.
Color and structure: Freshly harvested heartwood is yellow-brown with a matte sheen. The 5 to 10 cm wide splint has a whitish-brown color. In Southern Yellow Pines, wooden rays are only visible on the surface. The resin channels are scattered along the longitudinal surfaces in the form of blackish-brown lines. Additionally, figured wood can be found on the side-grain of older late wood. The early wood, however, is white-brown.
Characteristics/features: This timber can easily be processed using carbide metal tools. If the resin leakage is excessive, the tools can become dull and sticky.
Areas of use: Due to the varying strength properties of the Southern Yellow Pine’s core and sapwood, it is important to clarify whether the wood is to be used outdoors or indoors.The heartwood is particularly suitable for the construction of industrial containers, decks, as structural wood for windows, doors and gates, as well as for heavily used floors. Indoors, it is often used for furniture building, flooring, profiled boards and more.
Sources: https://www.holzvomfach.de

SOUTHERN YELLOW PINE

Southern Yellow Pine ist eine von mehreren Gattungen der Sumpfkiefer, die im Südosten der Vereinigten Staaten heimisch ist.

Beschreibung

Botanischer Name: Quercus petraea
Gesamtcharakter: Das Gesamtbild des Holzes ist größtenteils äußerst harzreich und ähnelt farblich und strukturell der Douglasie. Die Trocknung verläuft bei geradefaserigen Hölzern weitestgehend problemlos. Die Pilzfestigkeit des Kernholzes ist gut, aber die des Splintholzes reicht nicht für die Verwendung im Außenbereich aus.
Farbe und Struktur: Das frisch eingeschlagene Kernholz ist gelbbraun und weist einen matten Glanz auf. Der 5 bis 10 cm breite Splint setzt sich mit einem Weißbraun deutlich vom Kernholz ab. Holzstrahlen sind bei der Southern Yellow Pine nur als Spiegel auf der Oberfläche zu erkennen. Die Harzkanäle sind vereinzelt noch als schwarzbraune Linien im Längenschnitt zu erkennen. Zusätzlich entstehen auf den Längsflächen durch das dunkle Spätholz Fladern. Das Frühholz hingegen ist weißbraun.
Eigenschaften: Das Holz lässt sich problemlos mit Hartmetallwerkzeugen bearbeiten. Bei extremem Harzaustritt kann das Werkzeug durch das Harz stumpf werden und verkleben.
Verwendungsbereiche: Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Festigkeitseigenschaften des Kern- und Splintholzes der Southern Yellow Pine ist hier genau zu unterscheiden, ob das Holz im Außen- oder Innenbereich verwendet werden soll. Das Kernholz eignet sich besonders für den Bau von Behältern in der Industrie, für Decks, als Konstruktionsholz für Fenster, Türen und Tore, wie auch für stark benutzte Fußböden. Im Innenbereich kommt es oft für den Bau von Möbeln, Fußböden, Profilbrettern und vielem mehr zum Einsatz.
Quellen: https://www.holzvomfach.de